Call USA: 360-390-5120 / MEX: 322-139-5679 or 322-191-5275
We have your perfect vacation rental in La Cruz de Huanacaxtle, Mexico NO BOOKING FEES.

Guest Reviews

Nayri Penthouse Reviews

Penthouse over looking the Marina entrance with private roof top pool

Nayri Penthouse Main Photo

“Amazing view and perfect location.”

"When I first stepped off the elevator directly into this beautiful penthouse condo there was an immediate wow factor. There is a stunning view of Banderas Bay from the balconies on the ocean side of the condo and a great view of the Sierra Madre mountains from the balcony on the other side. The condo is very modern with all the luxuries you could possibly ask for (including a washer/dryer and dishwasher). I especially enjoyed the private rooftop pool area which has a shower, bathroom, fridge, ice maker and the most amazing view! Also, the staff was extremely helpful. I highly recommend this property for anyone looking to vacation in style with plenty of privacy."

LORI MCKINNEY
From: Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Date of Stay: September 2017

 

Click the dots below to move to the next review.

Casa Melinda Reviews

Stunning Hilltop Views of the Bay, Mountains, Valley and the Village of La Cruz

Casa Melinda Main Photo

“Beautiful private getaway”

"Steve and Melinda's home is even more gorgeous in person. The view, pool, amenities (and linens!) were all fantastic.

My husband and I enjoyed a lot of down time there. La Cruz is very peaceful. We ate in and were also delighted to find some very good restaurants. When we wanted more city action, we hopped buses to Bucerias and Puerto Vallarta. Very easy.

People have mentioned that the home sits on top of a steep hill. We found it to be a great after-dinner walk. But if that's not your cup of tea, it would be an easy & cheap cab ride up."

DORIS Q
From: Seattle, Washington
Date of Stay: April 2017

 

Click the dots below to move to the next review.

“Million dollar view and infinity pool!”

"We had a great week at this world class villa.The view is spectacular , the hosts gracious and helpful but not obtrusive. The gourmet kitchen is fully equipped and we created some great meals. Furniture and bedding is first class and the pool to die for, Ideally located in a very quiet(for Mexico!) neighbourhood and very safe. We would definitely stay again. Cruz is a very quiet village but does have several good restaurants."

JUDY A.
Date of Stay: April 2017

 

Click the dots below to move to the next review.

“AMAZING!!!!”

"We spent our most enjoyable family vacation to date at Casa Melinda! Beautiful views, absolutely amazing villa, delicious local food in walking distance. Very central to the stunning beach of Playa Destiladres, Bucerias, Sayulita, Punta de Mita and endless amounts of relaxation just staying in the beautiful villa. We want to thank Steve and Mindy for being such gracious hosts.....we will definitely be back!!"

KEITH J.
Date of Stay: March 2017

 

Click the dots below to move to the next review.

“Paradise On The Hilltop”

"My husband and I spent four blissful weeks celebrating our 30 wedding anniversary in Steve and Mindy's beautiful home. They are the consummate hosts, and now we can say our friends. It was wonderful exploring the town of La Cruz but really we enjoyed relaxing days reading by the pool and looking out into the ocean. The sunrises were breathtaking!! You will not want for a thing while staying in this one of a kind Mexican Casa."

WINTERPEG
From: Winnipeg, Canada
Date of Stay: Jan. 2017

 

Click the dots below to move to the next review.

“Wonderful from top to bottom”

"Melinda and Steve took great care of us and the house was even more impressive in person. Every detail was accounted for and it made our engagement very special. We will most definitely be back to visit the many quick friends we made in town."

NICHOLAS P.
From: Denver, Colorado
Date of Stay: Jan. 2017

 

Click the dots below to move to the next review.

“Casa Melinda is more than I expected!”

"I booked this house and stayed with a friend visiting from Wales in March 2016, a little late with my review. As said by others, the pictures do not do this property justice! It is beautiful, quiet and the perfect place to relax. Steve and Mindy were the perfect hosts! They gave us our complete privacy, yet were very helpful with recommendations about restaurants, markets and the town in general. I am so happy to have met them. Honestly, we didn't leave the house, we were too happy on the beautiful patio with the stunning views and pool! There were movies, games, everything you need is there. I especially loved the jet tub! I would recommend this place to everyone! Privacy, beauty and relaxation, what more can one ask for! I can't wait to return."

EILEEN I.
Date of Stay: March 2016

 

Click the dots below to move to the next review.

“Casa Melinda”

"Casa Melinda is absolutely gorgeous. It was beyond our expectations and the pictures actually do not do it justice. The view from this home is spectacular. From the moment you walk in, you feel you have arrived in paradise. It's clean with all the amenities. Steve and Mindy are wonderful hosts. They made sure we were comfortable and had everything we needed. They gave us great advice on where to go for the best beaches and fun things to do. The bedrooms are huge; each with their own bathroom. There is WiFi if you need to get a little work done while you are there. We would definitely recommend this home for a great vacation spot. We will definitely be coming back. Thanks Mindy and Steve!!!"

NANCY B.
Date of Stay: June 2016

 

Click the dots below to move to the next review.

“What a wonderful place!”

"My wife and I booked Casa Melinda after looking at the photos. We expected the home to be nice but WOW! This home is exceptional at every turn.

Very quiet yet minutes to the all that La Cruz has to offer. The restaurants are plentiful and lots of music and places to dance if that's what you're looking for.

We enjoyed sitting on the deck talking into the wee hours looking at the millions of twinkling lights from the town and the stars above. The view is amazing!

We would definitely recommend this home!"

PARROTHEAD
From: Port Ludlow, Washington
Date of Stay: Jan. 2016

 

Click the dots below to move to the next review.

“Fantastic place to stay!”

"First word out of my mouth the day we arrived at Casa Melinda was “Wow!”

Perched high on the hillside above Banderas Bay, the panoramic view from Casa’s Melinda is exquisite! Weather from the spacious master bedroom, main house, or private moon shaped infinity pool, the view is a breath-taking spectacle where you can drink in the Pacific ocean and enjoy the sparkling lights from the La Cruz Marina below! You can almost hear the waves gently lapping at the shore!

A spacious house, Casa Melinda boasts views of the valley and ocean throughout. Her charm seems to echo the warmth of the ocean breeze and one can’t help but relax on the spacious deck sipping a tropical drink at the outdoor bar, or hang out in the crescent shaped infinity pool taking in the spectacular view!

Old world hacienda style (but brand new inside and out), Casa Melinda is equipped with modern amenities and decorated exquisitely! Mosaics and paintings from artists throughout Mexico accent the vibrant decor! But the most striking decorative feature of the house is the mesquite wood accents throughout. Huge wood, dome shaped doors with metal hinges, (custom made) give the home an authentic, old style spanish flare!

The spacious kitchen (and other rooms in the house) are accented with the same wood and blends in with the spectacular landscape below. The master bathroom boasts a jacuzzi bathtub, and the “movie room” boasts a big screen tv with a huge selection of movies (not that you need movies with the view outside!)

If you can pull yourself away from this incredible home, the town of LaCruz (as well as the marina) is right down the hill and offers fantastic restaurants, music and dancing! La Cruz Sunday market is a must stop where you can stock up on fruit and veggies, souvenirs, and sample foods from local restaurants (or just chill and enjoy the music that will be playing!) If you want to learn to salsa dance, the lessons at Octopus Garden restaurant (taught by Hugo) are fantastic!

Casa Melinda exceeded our expectations. Owners Melinda and Steve are incredibly accommodating and friendly.

You won’t want to leave this place!"

C & C
From: Seattle, Washington
Date of Stay: Jan. 2016

 

Click the dots below to move to the next review.

Vista de Bahia Reviews

Incredible ocean and mountain views with 4 bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms and a private pool

Casa Vista De Bahia Main Photo

“great house and great town”

"We stayed in this beautiful house for a week and just found it fabulous. The kitchen was a joy to use and was fully equipped ....even for my standards.
The town of La Cruz had lots to offer but my favorite was the fresh market.
We took a trip on Chica Locca and went to visit the Marieta islands and had a blast."

ROB C.
From: Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Date of Stay: August 2017

 

Click the dots below to move to the next review.

“Great view, lovely rooftop palapa and a nice pool area”

"I really enjoyed my stay at the vacation property Vista de Bahia. I spent a lot of time hanging out in the pool and patio area. The rooftop palapa was fun to sleep under with a very comfy bed and had a great view to sit and have my morning coffee. The house had everything I needed and the staff was very helpful. This is a wonderful place to stay in La Cruz, Mexico! I was very happy!"

DAVE T.
From: Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Date of Stay: August 2017
Click the dots below to move to the next review.

Casa Coral - Studio

Economical Studio in the heart of La Cruz

Casa Coral - Studio - Main Photo

“Well equipped one room studio”

"Cool weekend retreat in town center. Good washer and dryer. Kitchen with all necessary utensils, though no Microwave , oven or toaster. Just fine for lighter meal prep. Great, helpful handyman. Manager only a phone call away. Would choose to stay here again."

MARY T.
From: Alberta, Canada
Date of Stay: Jan. 2017

 

Click the dots below to move to the next review.

Casa Coral - Artisano Suite

Heart of the Village! Easy walking to Restaurants, Beach, Marina & Nightlife

Casa Coral - Artisano Suite - Main Photo

“Loved it!”

"This is a perfect place for a relaxing vacation. It was wonderful to have coffee in the morning, with the windows wide open, admiring the beautiful bougainvillea and listening to the birds. We also really enjoyed the roof top deck. A few times, we walked to the fish market and bought fresh fish and shrimp, made a salsa and BBQed on the roof. We spent a lot of time up there, reading, napping, having meals, star gazing and listening to the local music in the nearby venues. La Cruz is a wonderful village, with great fresh food and lots of live music. Having a wonderful, centrally located apartment was the icing on the cake! Thank you Steven and everyone that made this such an wonderful vacation."

ELAINE L.
Date of Stay: March 2017

 

Click the dots below to move to the next review.

“Excellent vacation in this wonderful house!”

"Amazing place very close to the beach. The guest is very friendly. I recommend."

RODRIGO G.
Date of Stay: April 2017

 

Click the dots below to move to the next review.

“Wonderful village and a perfect place”

"I can't say enough about this beautiful condo. The decor was very nice, it was clean and comfortable. Only 3 or 4 blocks to a beautiful beach and the Marina and close to all of the shops and bistros. I will go back again and again ! Thank you Steven and Melinda"

KAREN ODOM
From: Aspen, Colorado
Date of Stay: March 2017

 

Click the dots below to move to the next review.

“Pure Magic!”

"We just spent 10 days with the most beautiful people on the face of the Earth in a quaint little vacation rental that was everything it was supposed to be"

TOM M.
Date of Stay: Feb. 2017

 

Click the dots below to move to the next review.

Casa de Los Pajaros - Terrace Suite

Incredible quiet one bedroom with great mountain views

Casa de Los Pajaros - Terrace Suite

“Wonderful, unique spacious house including private roof with beautiful 360-degree views.”

"Easy to find up on the top of a hill in a very safe area, we never felt nervous walking around even at night. Beautiful house with a nice kitchen. High quality king bed with nice linens. We spent a lot of time on the roof-- the 360 views are really something. No AC but good ventilation and fans, we were completely comfortable. La Cruz was the perfect town to stay in outside of crowded PV and centrally located. Would love to stay here again."

MARION S.
Date of Stay: April 2017

 

Click the dots below to move to the next review.

“Escape the Rat Race of Puerto Vallarta Here!”

"If you want to be close to the activities of Puerto Vallarta, but have peace and quite to start and end your day, this is for you. An easy 30 minute drive (at peak traffic time) gets you to all the action. The house is very nice and well kept, the people who run the property are very easy to work with. You will find great views and cool breezes at this hilltop location. Plenty of local food choices near by(walking distance) and a harbor with a great walking path around it. Try it, you will like it!"

MARK M.
Date of Stay: March 2017

 

Click the dots below to move to the next review.

“A Quiet Hideaway, Nestled in the Hills of a Small Fishing Village”

"For our first trip to Mexico we wanted to experience the people, the food and the culture. Having read the book "Gringos in Paradise" our original idea was to stay in Sayulita. However, Sayulita was infested with Gringos and we couldn't find anything affordable and to our liking. We nearly succumbed to a resort in Puerto Vallarta, but stumbled on this quiet little place overlooking the bay on one side and mountains on the other. Casa de los Pajaros (House of the Birds) was a delight. We were located about halfway between Puerto Vallarta and Sayulita so we could visit both. Surprisingly, the town of La Cruz de Huanacaxtle and nearby Bucerias were also treats. Takeaways from the trip include: visits to the SuperMercado called Mega where we picked up fresh fruits, vegetables and bakery items for about half the price in the States; long talks with a sweet and humble expat neighbor; many Mexicans who spoke English; quite a few Canadians, eh; and cute beaches. Renting a car was a great idea, but if you have a lead foot like I do, you may need to think twice before rushing off to the airport at the last minute. Overall, we had a great trip and we would certainly recommend this house to anyone."

MICHAEL W.
Date of Stay: Jan. 2017

 

Click the dots below to move to the next review.

“Quiet, comfortable stay with stunning views.”

"Cozy mid-level rental in a quiet neighborhood. Gorgeous views from Montecalvario, and just a short walk from the beach and town. Friendly management and neighbors. I would not hesitate to stay here again!"

DONOVAN D.
From: Hood Rive, Oregon
Date of Stay: Dec. 2016

 

Click the dots below to move to the next review.

“Wonderful accommodations with local flare!”

"Amazing adventure! This was a last minute trip to La Cruz to visit with my cruising kids who had just arrived there at the marina and we were lucky enough to find accommodations with local flare during the Christmas holidays! This garden apt was most charming and had all the comforts of home but was much more since we wanted to be acclimated within the local community. Close to the marina and all the wonderful culture and restaurants of the La Cruz area. The apt included a complete kitchen, large bathroom/shower facility and large bedroom with the most comfortable bed (much better than most hotels). The outdoor living area was the coolest.. it included a comfortable living room area with awesome views of the jungle and the quietness of outdoor living along with a beautiful hardwood table and barbecue grill (if one had the desire to cook). Eating out was much more fun and very affordable.

The managers were most helpful with information about La Cruz and giving us instructions about how to drive on the local roads so we stayed safe. Thanks for all your help...you made our trip flawless and most memorable.

This was an adventure I will remember for a lifetime and would recommend this property to anyone who enjoys traveling to enjoy local culture!!"

MICHELE T.
Date of Stay: Dec. 2015

 

Click the dots below to move to the next review.

“Best view in La Cruz”

"The view from this cozy house is breathtaking. It's amazing to be on the roof enjoying a 360 degree view of the bay and the mountains. The quietness at night was also a treat and felt secluded but close enough to town to enjoy the excellent restaurants and taco stands of La Cruz. The property manager lives right nearby and is extremely helpful and accommodating. I will diffidently return to this house, one of my favorites in Mexico!

TRAVELING WESTS
From: Bozeman, Montana
Date of Stay: June. 2015

 

Click the dots below to move to the next review.

Casa de Los Pajaros - Patio Suite

Quiet one bedroom Hideaway, Close To Town, To Relax And Decompress In

Casa de Los Pajaros - Patio Suite

“It was amazing. The terrace was fantastic and one night we moved the couches to stargaze. Incredible”

"Only downside, and because of our ages, 66&67, the hill was a challenge. Great for daily exercise but a bit different with groceries. Hope to go back for longer stay and will plan meals in ahead and taxi from store.

So peaceful, loved it."

PAMELA A C.
Date of Stay: March 2017

 

Click the dots below to move to the next review.

Casa Dos Dolphins

Ocean front villa with private pool

Casa Dos Dolphins - Main Photo

“The perfect house”

"The prefect house in la Cruz. This is a big house with a big PRIVATE POOL.

Awesome!!

ANONYMOUS
From: San Diego, Ca.
Date of Stay: Sept. 2017

 

Click the dots below to move to the next review.

“Relaxing Family Getaway”

"What a wonderful way to end our summer vacation and celebrate my daughter's 13th birthday! We have family that have been staying up the beach for over 20 years so we decided this would be a perfect year to join them. When researching a place to stay, we knew we wanted a private home with a pool and beach access. When I saw the photos for this home I thought it was too good to be true. I even did a google earth search to confirm the location! Well, I can confirm that the home was well-maintained, comfortable, private, and best of all relaxing!!!! The home is in a gated community and all the other properties were also well maintained. The home is nicely decorated with comfortable seating and functional cooking areas- both indoors and outdoors. We didn't run into anything that didn't work, (although the blender is a bit too weak to make blended margaritas) and there were plenty of dishes, pots, pans, utensils, and gadgets. My niece and her two boys stayed with us, so I was thankful for all the extra beach towels!!! Three kids and three adults swimming off and on all day, and some nights, can result in a lot of towels!!! We were also happy to find a good-sized washer and dryer that made it so easy for us to wash all these towels and bathing suits! As far as the weather, I guess it was typical for this time of year. There were lightening storms for 3 out of the 5 days we were there, but they all took place early to late evening. It was extremely humid, both day and night, so we were thankful for the three AC units (each bedroom and living room) that all worked great! We did have one negative experience with the deadbolt on the front door. Somehow it got stuck in the lock position and the key could not unlock it. Thankfully one of the windows was open, because it was already late afternoon and we didn't know what we were basically locked out. I did email the property manager and he arranged for a handyman to come fix the lock the next day, so it all worked out. It is good to know that there is someone to help should a problem arise. A fun tip- we went over to the fish market up the beach and bought some amazing seafood, at a ridiculously low cost!!!! Besides that, we saw a banana boat driver there and arranged to have him come to the house to take the kids out on a ride for a reasonable fee. Overall, we enjoyed a wonderful vacation and look forward to returning next summer!

YVETTE G.
From: Lakewood.
Date of Stay: August 2017

 

Click the dots below to move to the next review.

“The property was amazing just as the pictures showed it.”

"We had an amazing time in this beautiful home. The pool was fantastic and so was the beach just across the backyard. Rob had everything you might need and forgot from spices to towels to snorkel gear. The washer and dryer were a huge plus. We loved the neorest in the master bedroom. Kids loved the satellite tv and wifi. This is truly an amazing home.

MAECELA M.
Date of Stay: July 2017

 

Click the dots below to move to the next review.

“Fabulous time!”

"We had a wonderful stay and the home was equipped with everything you need. The kids loved the pool and there is a beautiful beach just 5 min down the road. Enjoyed checking out sayulita also. Rob was very helpful! Thank you for a wonderful time.

ANONYMOUS
From: Parker, Colorado
Date of Stay: June 2017

 

Click the dots below to move to the next review.

“Amazing home, even more amazing host!”

"This beautiful home was EXACTLY what we were looking for and needed! The pool is big, clean and the perfect temperature! The beach is literally steps away. Bay of Banderas is in your backyard when staying here. The temperature of the ocean was perfect! I was comfortable enough to let my kids play, splash and swim in the ocean. We had our little one, who is 2 years old, he was more comfortable in the little lagoon area just a few steps further. The house was close enough to walk to town along the beach, such a nice walk too. Rob was the BEST host ever! Rob went above and beyond the confines of a host, Rob was like family! Julio who helped with the maintenance of the home also exceeded the expectations!

The second we walked into the home we were in "awe", you could see the beach and water as you walk into the home. We spent most all of our time in the pool but the ocean was a close contender. We did go on an awesome excursion with Alley Cat Sailing one day, we were able to walk to the boat in the morning and upon our arrival, we were able to walk back home. Home, thats exactly how Casa dos Dolphins felt, I wish we could have stayed longer, I honestly loved staying there.

Thank you so much, Rob! Thank you for saving us as we arrived in PV and our rental car reservations went awry AND stopping at The Mega for us to get some groceries. Thank you for driving us to our next rental on the 2nd leg of our PV vacation. Finally, THANK YOU to Rob, Julio and your wonderful cleaning crew who helped us desperately look for our passports the day before we flew home. We had 1/2 of Sayulita and the 3 of you searching for these passports that my husband had actually tucked away safely in his luggage. YOU ARE AN AMAZING HUMAN and we are forever grateful for your hospitality and generosity. I am forever in your debt, thank you, Rob!

ANASTASIA E.
Date of Stay: May 2017

 

Click the dots below to move to the next review.

“A Wonderful Home in La Cruz”

"A perfect vacation for our family of 3. We enjoyed cooking in the beautiful kitchen and hanging out by the pool. A comfortable, well appointed home near Sayulita and Bucerias. Highly recommended.

SCOTT K.
Date of Stay: May 2017

 

Click the dots below to move to the next review.

“Great rental in a prime location”

"We were two couples who thoroughly enjoyed this property, It was clean and came very well equipped. The location in La Cruz is far enough from the madness of Puerto Vallarta but close enough if you wish to go to town. We could walk along the beach to a number of good restaurants.

The only negative which the owners should fix is that the sliding door to the patio has no lock nor is there access to the beach any other way. If we left to go out we had to leave the place unsecured. It never was a problem but needs attention.

We would rent here again.

RICK K.
From: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Date of Stay: May 2017

 

Click the dots below to move to the next review.

“Fantastic stay”

"We stayed with our 4 little children for a week at this house and are looking back at a fantastic experience. The house and the proximity to the beach are exactly as shown in the pictures. The house has all the amenities that you need. Steve is local (has been there over 5 years), easy going and a great guide to help out if you need anything specific. The surrounding area is quiet. Only sounds are the ones from the sea and the birds (and then our children off course :-)). The village of la Cruz itself is walking distance (over the beach) away from the house. It is the type of town that has not been destroyed in it's core population by the vast amount of tourists that have invaded it. The locals are very nice "amable" and helpful. We walked several mornings over to buy our catch of the day at the fish market and sat down for a cup of coffee at the marina. Also local restaurants serve fresh sea food. Everything is very relaxed and quiet with the advantage that if you're looking for instance for some more night life or surfing then Sayulita is only 15 minutes away. This town stole our hearth and we will definitely be back.

PAULA H.
Date of Stay: July 2016

 

Click the dots below to move to the next review.

“La Cruz Private Paradise”

"Thank you, Joe, for sharing your lovely home in La Cruz. The airport pick up by Myndie was a godsend and so was the stop at Mega, the local supermarket. Your recommendation of La Dolce Restaurant in Nuevo was spot on, and our birthday celebration there was fabulous. Your hole is spotless, comfy, elegant and the view and beach both private and spectacular. My time there, 3 days, was too short and I cannot wait to return!

MARILYN D.
Date of Stay: June 2016

 

Click the dots below to move to the next review.

“Wonderful Place!!”

"casa Dos Dolphins is excellent! We had an amazing time there. the house has eveything you may need the decor furniture , pool and cleaning is amazing. Better than any hotel. the location is really unbeatable! Having your own pool and walk to a sandy beach makes this vacation great for our family. Steve was always a step ahead of our needs and meeting him to show us his place personally was great. We will definitely come back here!! thank you Steve!

OCTAVIO C.
From: Guadalajara, Mexico
Date of Stay: July 2016

 

Click the dots below to move to the next review.